Adieu, Thorn In My Side

Dear DUI,

I’ve had plenty of alone time lately, which in turn, has gotten me thinking a lot about our relationship.  It’s been 6 months now and all you’ve brought me is heartache, trouble and sleepless nights.  Please don’t take this the wrong way, and I hope you understand where I’m coming from, but I think it’s time we go our separate ways.

Don’t get me wrong, you have taught me a lot about myself since the first time we met that January night.  You’ve made me realize I am not bullet-proof, nor an invincible super-hero, but a mere human being capable of making mistakes.  You’ve made me realize things can be perfect one day and Hell-on-earth the following.  You’ve also helped me realize who of my friends were really there for me in my time of need.  Ironically, with all that said, you’ve made me a stronger person, so at least I have that to thank you for.

On the other hand, I’ve also realized you’re not so perfect yourself.  When, in the past, I’d hear somebody mention they’d met you, or somebody that they knew that was cousin of somebody you knew, I considered myself fortunate to not have had that “privilege”.  Now, however, I can say with sure certainty that you are nothing but a cold, money-hungry, conniving, Son-of-a-bitch.

Did you know that thanks to you and the thousands of dollars you’ve taken from me right before my eyes, I’ve had to cancel all my planned vacations?  Did you also know that I haven’t had the luxury of even stopping into the new H&M just 2 blocks from my apartment because every cent I make goes to you?  That I’ve also had to limit my dinners with friends at restaurants?

Have I also told you that I am now terrified of the police and I despise them just as much?  That I catch myself grinding my teeth in the middle of the night due to the stress you’ve caused?  How about that the most humiliating thing (aside from jail time) was telling my Mother about you?  Did you know that?  Did you?

To put it nicely, I’ve learned enough to know that I hate your guts and I never want to see your face for as long as I live.  So I bid you farewell.  On your way now.  Go on!  We are officially over!

Sincerely,

Daniel

PS:  Oh, and please don’t harass my family, friends and loved ones.  Nobody deserves to be taken out to a cold, smelly cell on a first date.

~ by Daniel Miagany on June 23, 2012.

5 Responses to “Adieu, Thorn In My Side”

  1. As always Daniel. I love how you articulate your feeling through words. Than you for sharing this… Love you
    Dan

  2. Just beautiful.

  3. wow, Danny, gorgeous, soulful, bittersweet. That is some growin’ you’ve done. I am so proud of the man you’ve become. Love, love, love you.

  4. Hey Daniel, Powerful Writings! I wish u peace & Tranquility. If you need anything I’m here for u buddy.

    Some things are better expressed through writings, you’re really great at expressing yourself…ur passion is definitely heard.

    I’m proud to have known u and for u to share such a compelling public heart to mind.

    Just kno ur loved always by ur real friends & family, Nothing can break they bond. Keep ur head up (not that I have to tell u that) ur a strong soldier and u’ve survived a brutal battle.

    Life experiences makes us who we are, although relationships makes us harder to trust & Love… the heart does healand the body armor thickens for another day.

Leave a Reply

 
